The BBC’s 1964 ‘Great War’ series: ‘On The Idle Hill of Summer’

August 2, 2014 at 8:21 am (BBC, hell, history, imperialism, posted by JD, TV, war)

This is part one of a brilliant 1964 BBC series on WW1. It contains the best archive film then available, and is narrated by Michael Redgrave. It gives due emphasis to  the socio-political background to the conflict, including the role of the labour movement. Well worth watching the whole series if you have the time:

H/t James Bloodworth

Coatesy has some interesting stuff on France’s entry to WW1 here

[Please note that I shall be incommunicado for the next week or so. I’m hoping Rosie and/or one or two other occasional Shirazers will step into the breach while I’m away, but if not normal service will resume on my return – JD]

3 Comments

  1. The BBC’s 1964 ‘Great War’ series: ‘On The Idle Hill of Summer’ | OzHouse said,

    […] Aug 02 2014 by admin […]

  2. Rosie said,

    I’ve seen the first three episodes, and it’s excellent as you say, with superb footage.

  3. build backlinks said,

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any
    issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced
    but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the
    internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help prevent content
    from being ripped off? I’d truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

