Update to Nawaz

January 27, 2014 at 11:55 pm (islamism, religion, Rosie B)

Excellent piece by Amiad Khan at Left Foot Forward on the Maajid Nawaz affair.

Read the whole thing, and wonder at some liberals’ definition of liberalism.

Compare this to a thin and feeble piece in the New Statesman Spectator. [Yikes – dumb mistake. The New Statesman is silent on this matter].   What a stable of writers they’ve got – gone in the wind, can’t run a furlong without falling over. [Still think that about the Staggers.]

Also a tweet from Maajid Nawaz, which strikes a Protestant dissenting note, and a dignified one:-

I am a free Muslim. My prophet left no heir. My faith was never ruled by pope nor clergy. For my sins I answer to God alone. You are not God.

Also – here’s a piece by Nawaz in, wonders of wonders, The Groan:-

My intention was to demonstrate that Muslims are able to see things we don’t like, yet remain calm and pluralist, and to demonstrate that there are Muslims who care more about the thousands of deaths in Iraq, Pakistan and Syria than we do about what a student is wearing. My intention was to highlight that Muslims can engage in politics without insisting that our own religious values must trump all others’ concerns, and to stand before the mob so that other liberal Muslim voices that are seldom heard, women’s and men’s, could come to the fore. And many such Muslim voices have been heard this last week.

However, in the final analysis, my intentions are irrelevant. What matters is this simple truth: I am free not to be offended by a cartoon I did not draw. If my prospective constituents do not like me not being offended, they are free not to vote for me. Other Muslims are free to be offended, and the rest of the country is free to ignore them. I will choose my policies based on my conscience. As such, I will continue to defend my prophet from those on the far right and Muslim extremes who present only a rigid, angry and irrational interpretation of my faith. I will stand for fairness, as Amnesty International once stood for me when I was a prisoner in Hosni Mubarak‘s Egypt. Because I believe that the difference between fairness and tribalism is the difference between choosing principles and choosing sides.

Further update:-

Channel 4 showed the cartoon like this:-

censorship

The transgressive showcase for the alternative Christmas Message and Embarrassing Bodies suddenly goes coy and tasteful on us.

5 Comments

  1. Update to Nawaz | OzHouse said,

    […] Jan 28 2014 by admin […]

  2. Babs said,

    Links to The Spectator not New Statesman.

    • RosieB said,

      Cripes! You’re right. That’s embarrassing! Of course the NS didn’t cover this at all!

  3. Jim Denham said,

    Nick Cohen, in last Sunday’s Observer, pre-empted many of the points I’d been intending to make in a post here, including the fact that Shafiq has come as near as dammit to incitement to attack/kill Nawaz:

    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jan/25/liberal-democrats-t-shirt-jesus-muhammad-religion#start-of-comments

  4. Andrew Coates said,

    And they they made up, and then they didn’t.

    I cannot imagine a national news programme giving such deferential coverage to a Christian bigot.

    More updates: http://tendancecoatesy.wordpress.com/2014/01/29/channel-four-censors-jesus-and-mo-cartoons-in-deference-to-mohammed-shafiq/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 515 other followers

