I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free) – 50 years on

November 12, 2013 at 12:12 am (Anti-Racism, civil rights, history, jazz, Jim D, song, Soul, The blues)

Some readers may have been mystified as to why on Saturday, apparently for no particular reason, I posted a short piece on Billy Taylor’s composition ‘I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free).’

The reason was that today (Nov 12) is the 50th anniversary of the original recording of the tune by Billy Taylor’s Trio. My little post, complete with YouTube clips by Taylor and Nina Simone, was prepared in advance, all ready to go up today. Then I pressed the wrong button and posted it early.

So here, on the anniversary itself, is the original version from Taylor’s album Right Here, Right Now, released early in 1964, but recorded exactly 50 years ago today:

3 Comments

  1. I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free) – 50 years on | OzHouse said,

    […] Nov 12 2013 by admin […]

  2. Matthew Thompson said,

    It was also the first track played on last Saturday’s Jazz Record Requests.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

